Join AOGdigital on Facebook Join AOGdigital on LinkedIn Join AOGDigital on Twitter


Asian AUV teams compete at RoboSub

Written by  Wednesday, 30 July 2014 21:10
Rate this item
(0 votes)

RoboSub 2014 course layoutTeams from nine Asian universities are among the 40 schools that qualified to compete this week, at the 17th Annual International RoboSub Competition, sponsored by the AUVSI Foundation – the Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International – and held at the SSC Pacific TRANSDEC Anechoic pool, San Diego, California.

The Asian teams include university students from China, India, Japan, Russia, Singapore, and Thailand.

Co-sponsored by the US Office of Naval Research (ONR), the goal of this competition is to advance the development of Autonomous Underwater Vehicles (AUVs) by challenging a new generation of engineers to perform realistic missions in an underwater environment. The event also serves to foster ties between young engineers and the organizations developing AUV technologies. 

The Annual RoboSub Competition is an important key to keeping young engineers excited about careers in science, technology, engineering, and math and has been tremendously successful in recruiting students into the high-tech field of maritime robotics.

This year’s event is 28 July – 3 August; Qualifying runs began on Tuesday, 29 July. Static judging begins tomorrow, 31 July, and final runs will be held on 3 August.

Twelve countries are represented, with 22 teams from US universities, high schools, and a home-school group; five teams from Canada; four teams from India; and one team each from China, Egypt, Iceland, Japan, Russia, Singapore, Sweden Thailand, and Turkey.

2014 RoboSub team competitors:

Ain Shams University (ASU Racing Team): Cairo, Egypt

Amador Valley High School: Pleasanton, California

California Institute of Technology: Pasadena, California

California State Polytechnic University: Pomona, California

Carl Hayden High School (Falcon Robotics): Phoenix, Arizona

Cornell University: Ithaca, New York

Daytona Beach Homeschoolers (S.S. Minnow): Palm Coast, Florida

Delhi Technological University: Delhi, India

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University: Daytona Beach, Florida

Far Eastern Federal University:Vladivostok, Russian Federation

Harbin Engineering University: Harbin, China

Indian Institute of Technology Bombay: Mumbai, India

Indian Institute of Technology Madras: Chennai, India

Istanbul Technical University (AUVTECH): Istanbul, Turkey

Kasetsart University: Bangkok, Thailand

Kyushu Institute of Technology: Fukuoka, Japan

Mälardalen University: Västerås, Sweden

McGill University (McGill Robotics): Montreal, Canada

Montana State University: Bozeman, Montana

National University of Singapore (Team Bumblebee): Singapore

Nautilus: Temecula, California

Prairie View A&M University: Prairie View, Texas

Reykjavik University: Reykjavik, Iceland

RoboEgypt  Electronic Research Institute: Alexandria, Egypt

Robosub Club of the Palouse:

 - Washington State University, Pullman, WA

 - University of Idaho, Moscow, Idaho

San Diego City College: San Diego, California

San Diego Robotics 101: San Diego, California

San Diego State University Mechatronics Club: San Diego, California

Southern Polytechnic State University Autonomous Underwater Vehicle Team: Marietta, Georgia

St. George's School: Vancouver, Canada

Team BangaloreRobotics: Bangalore, India

Team SONIA - École de Technologie Supérieure (ETS): Montreal, Canada

University of Alberta (ARVP): Edmonton, Canada

University of Arizona (AUVUA): Tucson, Arizona

University of Colorado Boulder: Boulder, Colorado

University of Florida: Gainesville, Florida

University of Maryland: College Park, Maryland

University of Southern California: Los Angeles, California

University of Toronto: Toronto, Canada

Good luck to the competitors! OE

Read 9054 times